Back to Minutes Page

Minutes for the CTLA Meeting of May 21, 2005

Baker and Taylor and CTLA hosted the CTLA (Chicago Teacher-Librarian Association). Advance reservation was required. The meeting was held in the Healy's Westside Pub located at 7321 W. Madison Street in Forest Park, Illinois. The luncheon started at 11:00 am and ended at 2:00pm.

This was the ending meeting of 2004-2005 honoring our retiring librarians who were collectively serving our children for nearly 200 years. Each was given a gift and a certificate. Honorees were: Kenneth Peterson, Dr. Lois Waiters-Sanders, Earline Morgan Spencer, Estella Buckles, Janice Harley, Ruby G. Martin, Shirley Swain and more who were not able to attend.

Deanna Seltzer inducted our new officers for the school year 2005-2006. She was the CTLA president in 1979-1980. She was also president of the Childrens Reading Round Table, CRRT, in the year 1983-1984. The new officers areas follow: Gail Johnson president, Irish Leo-Bain vice president, Edie Sokolnicki treasurer, Maude Muhammad recording secretary, Joan Gerig correspondent secretary, Charles Gunn membership secretary, Rochelle Wooding corresponding secretary, Patricia Dempsey, reservations secretary, Marge Fashing historian, Vera Vasudevan-Bunting immediate past president.

Vera Bunting announced that there is free materials at the llllinois Department of Natural Resources, the Division of Education. Go to

Lois Hanley was the sales representative of school libraries, Information and Entertainment Services of Baker and Taylor. You may reach her at,, Tel: 800.775.7930 ext. 1043. The region librarians of the Department of Libraries for CPS were in attendance at the Mayor Daily Book Club meeting today and was not able to be present at the CTLA retirement luncheon.

Respectfully Submitted,
Maude Muhammad
Recording Secretary